Branching Out

I have been selling on Etsy for almost a year. It’s a humble little shop with a few sales and a few reviews. When I started it, I had so many ideas on which direction I wanted to go. Calendars, business cards, printables, graphic art prints, clip art, custom invitations, paper goods, etc. In addition to Etsy, I had been sitting around wondering how I can best apply my graphic art and design skills. Do I do consulting? Make web pages? Blog Templates? Logos?

All of these ideas were great, but not practical… at least for now. The one good thing about my time with Etsy is it helped me hone in on a niche. Children. More specifically, educational resources. This was a great revelation because we are beginning to homeschool preschool. At the same time, though, I concluded that Etsy was not the best place for this niche.

Enter Teachers Pay Teachers. I don’t think you can find a more dedicated and passionate community anywhere else! Teachers spend large amounts of their spare time (and sometimes money) into building resources for their classrooms. This website makes it possible for them to share it all with other teachers while making a little extra money and build community and support. Win. Win. Win.

It didn’t take much time for me to realize that I needed to branch out and start a store with TPT. It took about fifteen minutes, actually, before I had signed up and slapped a banner on my store’s page. I have not created anything new just yet, so you can find the same children’s items on both Etsy and TPT. I do plan to keep Mallow World open on Etsy… for now!

Mallow World Banner

I am still in the beginning stages of this blog and trying to sort out where to link my products. For now, if you want to follow Mallow World at either website, the links are below.

MALLOW WORLD AT ETSY

MALLOW WORLD AT TEACHERS PAY TEACHERS

Leave a Reply

