Homeschool and the Big Disclaimer

Homeschool

We are just a couple of weeks away from starting preschool at home with Elle. As a family, we have decided to homeschool and naturally, I have a mix of emotions and fears with committing to that responsibility. First, I am not gifted when it comes to organization, follow-through, and time-management. Second, there are a lot of negative opinions and stereotypes about homeschool… making the less-popular choice for education means there will be a lot of people, friend or foe, who feel we are making the wrong choice. And third, it has never been my first choice. Instinctively, I know this is the right direction for our family, but a part of me does want to send the kids off for the day. I could work, maybe keep the house tidier, have my own space…

Clearly, I have flaws and doubts. But the truth is, no matter what choice my family makes for education, I will have the same flaws and doubts. If we send our kids to a public school, I still won’t be organized and good at time-management. I will still question my choices daily and compare them to what everyone else is doing. And, the house will not be any cleaner, let’s be honest. I wouldn’t gain time, it would just be arranged differently.

Whether I am a working mom, stay-at-home mom, homeschool mom, or a work-from-home mom, this phase of life revolves around the children: what they are doing, where they are going, and doing all I can to raise them well! Just like every family I know.

Studying

SO! With all that said and done… I am very excited to be starting down this path. Despite all the doubts that creep in, I have faith that when I fix my eyes on Christ, I will not sink. There is support all around my family and a large community of homeschool families for us to connect with. This will most definitely be an open-ended adventure!

I will be sharing our PreK plans in the next week. If you are a homeschool parent or preschool educator, be sure to say hello! I would love connecting with you! Say hello even if you are not!

2 thoughts on “Homeschool and the Big Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

